Nourishing Food

One of our children had a stomach virus this week.  I wanted so much to nurse him back to health with good, nourishing food.  Our previous bug recovery staples have been Jell-O and Gatorade, and I wanted to avoid the excess sugar.  I asked friends to send me their gluten-free and sugar-free suggestions, and I was so encouraged by all the great ideas!

Here’s what we did…

First thing in the morning, I boiled a whole chicken.  That provided dinner for the family later and about half a gallon of broth which is full of natural probiotics.

As soon as the tummy violence was over, I opened a Tummy Tuneup and poured the powdery contents into a small amount of unsweetened applesauce for him.  I also added a Tummy Tuneup to a bottle of cold water which he sipped throughout the morning.

When he felt like eating, I served him a bowl of white rice with butter and sea salt added.  Other snacks throughout the day were Rice Chex (this was the only sugar he ate all day!), gluten-free crackers, buttered toast on Udi’s gluten-free bread, and chicken broth with sea salt added.

For dinner last night, he had rice with butter, a cup of chicken broth, and a banana.  Before going to bed, he ate a small bowl of unsweetened applesauce with a Tummy Tuneup added.

I’m so thankful to have kept him nourished with good food yesterday!  While he rested, I rediscovered a treasure on my bookshelf:  Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon.

Nourishing Traditions, Sally Fallon

I’m excited about the things I’m learning from this book!  This will help me feed my family good, nourishing food every day–not just when they’re recovering from a stomach virus.  I’ll be blogging about my discoveries very soon.  If you already have Nourishing Traditions, what’s your favorite recipe?  Did you learn something you want to share?  I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

