Baking Soda and Vinegar Meet Shower Head

Hard water.  If you have hard water, you know it.  Over time (and not very much time either), a crusty white build-up appears anywhere water stands even for a short time.

Observe my shower head…

DSC_0126 DSC_0128

I had read that a shower head could be cleaned easily with some natural cleaning products, so I decided to tackle the job.  I put about half a cup of baking soda in a small bowl and poured about 3/4 of cup of vinegar into a quart-sized plastic bag.

DSC_0125

My shower head is on a hose, so I was able to take it down for the cleaning.  I began by running a little water through it and then pressing the shower head into the bowl of baking soda.  Then I placed the shower head in the bag of vinegar and secured the bag with a rubber band.  The baking soda and vinegar fizzed up when I first put it in, and that initial reaction loosened up a lot of the build-up.  When the fizzing calmed down, I let the shower head rest in the tub, submerged in the bag of vinegar.

After one hour, I removed the bag, rinsed the shower head and wiped it clean.  Here’s the amazing result!

DSC_0132 DSC_0135

Three cheers for baking soda and vinegar!

2 thoughts on “Baking Soda and Vinegar Meet Shower Head

  1. Shower Head June 25, 2015 / 1:21 am

    I have hard water and my shower head didn’t work like new anymore. I tried your suggestions and now I am a happy man. My shower head works like new again. Thank you for the informative article.

    Like

Leave a Reply

