You’re Not Sick, You’re Thirsty!

drinking waterA little over a year ago, I came across these pictures on facebook.  I already knew that I needed to drink more water, and these pictures gave me the extra encouragement I needed.  Since then, I’ve been faithfully drinking lots of water every day (half my body weight in ounces).  I can’t say that I’ve noticed a change in my appearance as this lady did, but I sure have noticed a difference in the way I feel.

I recently came across a book on a library display.  It’s called Water: For Health, for Healing, for Life: You’re Not Sick, You’re Thirsty!  by Dr. F. Batmanghelidj.  Dr. Batmanghelidj has done extensive clinical and scientific research in dehydration and disease.  I’ve read the first chapter and skimmed most of the rest of the book, and my mind is blown!

I’ll give you a sample of what I’m reading.  This is from the first chapter…

“The body can suffer from deep dehydration without showing a dry mouth.  Dehydration produces severe symptoms, even to the point of causing life-threatening crises…  Dry mouth is one of the very last indicators of dehydration of the body.  By the time dry mouth becomes an indicator of water shortage, many delicate functions of the body have been shut down and prepared for deletion.  This is exactly how the aging process is established–through a loss of enzyme functions.”

Here are just a few of the topics addressed in this book:  asthma, allergies, blood pressure, diabetes, constipation, heartburn, rheumatoid arthritis, obesity, hot flashes, kidney stones.  I’m sure I’ll be sharing more of what I’m reading.  For now, I’m going to pour myself a glass of water!

IMG_4890[1]

Leave a Reply

