More About the Water Cure

The Water CureHave you ever wondered why it matters if you drink water?  Why not tea or orange juice or Gatorade?  I mean, everything we drink is made from water, right?

In Water: For Health, for Healing, for Life: You’re Not Sick, You’re Thirsty!, Dr. Batmanghelidj says,

“As far as the chemistry of the body is concerned, water and fluids are two different things…  The body needs water- nothing substitutes for water.  Coffee, tea, soda, alcohol, and even milk and juices are not the same as water.”

If you read The Water Cure earlier this week, you’ve probably figured out how many ounces of water you should drink each day.  When I first realized that I needed to drink 65 ounces of water every day, my first thought was, “No way!”  I started out sipping water throughout the day.  I couldn’t get 65 ounces in before the end of the day, and I spent most of the day in the restroom.  Then my daughter suggested drinking more at one time and that helped tremendously.  I now drink 24 ounces when I first get up, another 18-24 between breakfast and lunch, and about 18 ounces between lunch and dinner.  I also drink water with meals and before and during exercise.

Here are some tips from Dr. Batmanghelidj:

  • Drink water about 30 minutes before eating to prepare the digestive tract.  This is especially helpful for people who tend to have heartburn or gas-producing indigestion.
  • Drink water any time you’re thirsty, even during meals.
  • Drink water 2 1/2 hours after eating to complete the process of digestion.
  • Drink water when you first wake in the morning.
  • Drink water before exercising.

The doctor also recommends taking a half teaspoon of salt every day, and there is a fascinating discussion of the role of salt, particularly unrefined sea salt, in the body.  If you deal with hypertension, asthma, depression, or loss of bladder control, you will find the “hidden miracles” of salt in chapter 13 particularly interesting.

There are so many amazing claims in this book and I want to blog about all of them!  Since that’s an impractical goal (and probably a violation of copyright law!), let me just encourage you to read this book for yourself–and to drink plenty of water!  🙂

2 thoughts on “More About the Water Cure

  1. Carolyn Burchfield September 5, 2016 / 1:07 am

    Interesting article about water, may want to buy the book. Are you selling them, or can you tell me how to order one.

    Like

    • Smith Family Resources September 5, 2016 / 4:07 am

      This book is not available from Smith Family Resources. I found it in my local library and then bought a copy on Amazon. It is an excellent book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

